Spanish version of the article is available at the following link.

Russian version of the article is available down the link

Let’s see when and how the fee applies.

Proceed with : My Hub > Service Types > select a particular Service Type > Fee settings > CANCELLATION POLICY.

CUSTOMER cancellation fee (instant bookings):

1. By default a customer is charged with the fee in case he cancels an instant order after its acceptance by the driver. However, a customer may be given a “grace period” for cancellation of orders in “accepted” status. The “grace period” (“0” by default”) is set in cancellation policy. If the order is cancelled within the time set in the “grace period” no fee charges are applied. If the given “grace period” runs out the customer will be charged accordingly.

2. Cancellation fee also applies in cases when a "Minimum waiting time for the customer" runs out. Mind that "Minimum waiting time for the customer" countdown starts only once ETA = estimated time of arrival set by driver at order acceptance is over.

5 min is set as the default waiting time value. “Minimum waiting time for the customer” can be decreased or increased from 1 minute up in Fee settings > Cancellation policy of each Service type.

The charge does NOT apply if a customer cancels the trip when a driver is late for more than 3 minutes and distance from driver to pick up location is more than 200 meters. These values are default and can be adjusted in Cancellation policy as well. 1 min is the minimum allowed in “Waiting time for the taxi”. 0.1 - 0.5 km range is possible for “Minimum customer pickup distance”.

If “Client didn’t show up” reason is selected by driver before ETA + “Minimum waiting time for the customer” runs out the driver will be fined with cancellation fee.

3. A customer is allowed to cancel a trip in any status until “Transferring”= on a ride, which applies once the driver “Swipes to start a ride” from A to B. Thus, logically, cancellation fee is not supposed for this scenario.

Customer cancellation fee can only be set for companies with active merchants and credit/debit card payment methods enabled. In this case the fee is charged from the client's default credit card linked to his profile. If a transaction fails due to any reason, the cancellation fee is not charged in any way.

A company owner may decide whether the funds for customer cancellations are shared with the drivers or not.

  • If the checkbox “Do not share cancellation fee with driver” is checked the fee goes to the company's merchant.
  • If the checkbox “Do not share cancellation fee with driver” is left unchecked the fee goes to a driver’s balance. In this case fee value is credited to the driver's balance minus the commission as per driver’s subscription.

DRIVER cancellation fee (instant bookings):

1. By default the fee applies to the cases when a driver cancels the instant job after accepting it. However, a driver may be given a “grace period” for cancellation of orders in “accepted” status. The “grace period” (“0” by default”) is set in cancellation policy. If the order is cancelled by the driver within the time set in the “grace period” no fee charges are applied. If the given “grace period” runs out, the driver will be charged accordingly.

2. The system will charge the driver when the customer cancels an order informing that there is “Driver didn't show up”.

“Driver didn't show up” situation means that the driver is late for more than 3 minutes after ETA = estimated time of arrival (pickup time for pre-orders) and is farther than 200 meters from pickup location. These values are set as default in Fee settings > Cancellation policy and can be adjusted: 1 min is minimum allowed in “Minimum waiting time for the taxi. 0.1 - 0.5 km range is possible for “Minimum customer pickup distance”.

If the order is cancelled by customer before ETA + “Waiting time for the taxi” runs out he/she will be fined with a cancellation fee.

3. The driver will be charged with a fee for cancellations with trips in “Transferring”= on a ride status, which applies once the driver “Swipes to start a ride” from A to B

Driver cancellation fee is taken from a driver’s balance. Fee is registered as a transaction against the driver's account. System does not charge the fee from a driver’s credit card.

Cancellation fees are shown in:

1. сustomer app (booking history)

2. driver app (Recent jobs + transactions)

3. driver profile transactions in My Hub

4. Order reports

CUSTOMER cancellation fee (pre-orders):

1. By default a customer is charged with the fee in case he cancels a pre-order after its acceptance by the driver. However, a customer may be given a “grace period” for cancellation of pre-orders in “accepted” status. The “grace period” = minutes/hours before requested pick up time (“0” by default”) is set in cancellation policy. If the order is cancelled before the “grace period” countdown starts no fee charges are applied. If the “grace period” time is violated/not met with/overdue the customer will be charged accordingly.

2. The logic is similar to that of “Customer cancellation fee (instant bookings)”

3. The logic is similar to that of “Customer cancellation fee (instant bookings)”

IMPORTANT!

Reason factor at order cancellation does not matter in case cancellation fee policy conditions apply.

DRIVER cancellation fee (pre-orders):

1. By default the fee applies to the cases when a driver cancels a pre-order after accepting it. However, a driver may be given a “grace period” for cancellation of orders in “accepted” status. The “grace period” = minutes/hours before requested pick up time (“0” by default”) is set in cancellation policy. If the order is cancelled before the “grace period” no fee charges are applied. If the “grace period” time is violated the driver will be charged accordingly.

2. The logic is similar to that of “Driver cancellation fee (instant bookings)”

3. The logic is similar to that of “Driver cancellation fee (instant bookings)”

Order cancellations by mistake are brought to a minimum via a step-by step cancellation process for both drivers and customers :

  • either asking to just reconfirm their decision (in case Cancel was selected by mistake)
  • or informing on the fee that will be charged in case the conditions stated above apply

No worries on losing orders due to driver cancellations! The system sends all cancelled by driver bookings (instant and pre-orders) back to auto search attempting to find a new driver to process them. Thus, negative user experience is minimised. Moreover, the driver who cancels an order (fee or no fee) is put back in the intelligent order queue.

Consult the post “New driver search for cancelled orders” for details.

Now you are fully equipped with the knowledge of fee configuration for your company!

Did this answer your question?